1984 – 1989 Porsche 911 Targa

I’m in space now, looking down on the world destroyed, burned out. I can’t help but think back to the cars I loved so much. It makes me feel horrible to think how I took them for granted. What were the cars that I sneered at and scorned for no good reason?

 

High on that list would be those Porsches that rich old guys always drove around, buzzing along never too fast. Targas especially seemed like they were only built for low-speed cruising, for showing off, for posing. I hated that.

      But now I’m up here, slowly cruising myself on to some distant planet and the lift-off targa roof sounds like the perfect thing for a Porsche. Twisting roads just ask for some wind in your hair. I wish I had my hands on that leather-lined wheel. I wish I was bending through corners. I missed my chance; now a low weight, rear-drive sports car with handling and speed sounds perfect.

This entry was posted in NYC, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1984 – 1989 Porsche 911 Targa

  1. Ben Orlove says:

    the first and last images are especially good, the way that the reflections of the buildings show the lines, the curves of the car and also the scale, and the city context as well.

    • Raphael Orlove says:

      I’ve had the pictures for a while (the sunshine and leafy trees kind of gives it away), and much as I liked them, I didn’t have much to say about them. Glad I finally got them up.

Leave a Reply

