Love At First Sight: Mercury Lynx

The red of the car shone out under the blue summer sky. Mercury Lynx wagon, do I love you? Do I really love you?  Yes. I love you. 

Look into its heart. It was born out of a hard relationship between Ford and Mercury, just making ends meet against General Motors from above and Honda, Toyota, and Nissan from below.

This Lynx must have led a hard life, never asking much and struggling, really struggling. It wheezed and it rattled. Its shifter went loose and the clutch went slack. The steering shakes on smooth roads and it takes an even hand on rough ones.

You lived this long, Mercury Lynx. You must be so strong, maybe you were so loved.

Look at your roof rack, Mercury – the bolts are rusty. When was the last time someone lashed a canoe up there? When was the last time you carried a tent up there? When was the last time someone folded down your rear seats and stretched out, exhausted, happy, staring at the red headliner?

Sweat stung my eyes under that hot California sun; it looked so beautiful. I was lost in there. I thought that I could have that even hand to keep it straight on a rough road. The little Mercury would take me to places I’d never been before. Am I ready for the hard life this Lynx is so accustomed to? Maybe not, but I feel ready to start.

I have a 1.9-liter four cylinder in my heart, too.

You love me girl, love me
You keep on saying you want me girl
But you’re gonna run away
You keep on saying you need my love
But you keep on fighting me
You keep on saying you want my heart
But do you think you’re ready babe?

– Lil B, “Need My Love“, Internet, 2011

This entry was posted in Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love At First Sight: Mercury Lynx

  1. Antoine Carr says:

    you gota love those Mercury Lynx I to have a 1.9 liter engine as a heart to .
    My mom had one when I was a kid . 1986 Mercury Lynx L Hatchback red also .
    You catn beat those Mercury I truly love those car .I to love the Mercury Lynx

Leave a Reply

